Jeff Bagwell, Tim Raines and Ivan Rodriguez Elected to the Baseball Hall of Fame For 2017

The Baseball Writers of America Association (BBWAA) released its results for this year’s Baseball Hall of Fame. The players to be enshrined for 2017 are Jeff Bagwell, Tim Raines and Ivan Rodriguez. The announcement was made on Wednesday, January 18, 2017 at 6:00 p.m. Eastern Time.

Jeff Bagwell was elected with 381 votes (86.2% of the vote). Tim Raines was elected with 380 votes (86.0% of the vote) and Ivan Rodriguez was elected with 336 votes (76.0% of the vote). Each player will be enshrined in Cooperstown, NY having received more than the required 75 percent of the vote from the BBWAA.

Jeff Bagwell is a Major League baseball first baseman who played his entire fifteen-year playing career for the Houston Astros. He was the National League Rookie of the Year for 1991 as well as the National League MVP for 1994. Bagwell was a four-time All Star for 1994, 1996, 1997 and 1999, a three-time Silver Slugger Award winner for 1994, 1997 and 1999 and Gold Glove Award recipient for 1994.

Tim Raines is a former left fielder who played from 1979 to 2002 as a player. During his playing career he played for six different teams: the Montreal Expos from 1979 to 1990, the Chicago White Sox from 1991 to 1995, the New York Yankees from 1996 to 1998, the Oakland Athletics in 1999, a return to the Montreal Expos in 2001, the Baltimore Orioles in 2001 and the Florida Marlins in 2002. Raines is a three-time World Series champion for 1996, 1998 and 2005 and a seven-time All-Star from 1981 through 1987.

Ivan Rodriguez, nicknamed “Pudge”, is a former catcher who also played for six different teams during his career. Rodriguez played for the Texas Rangers from 1991 to 2002, the Florida Marlins in 2003, the Detroit Tigers from 2004 to 2008, the New York Yankees in 2008, the Houston Astros in 2009, then for the Texas Rangers again in 2009 and finally the Washington Nationals from 2010 to 2011. Rodriguez is a World Series champion for 2003 and a fourteen-time All-Star for 1992 through 2001 and for 2004 through 2007. He was the 1999 American League MVP and won 13 Gold Glove Awards.

Sports Speakers 360 is a booking agent for pro athletes. If you would like to book Jeff Bagwell, Tim Raines or Ivan Rodriguez for a speaking engagement, appearance or endorsement, contact a Jeff Bagwell, Tim Raines or Ivan Rodriguez booking agent for fees at 1.855.303.5450.

Speak Your Mind