Jerry Rice, Emmitt Smith, Floyd Little Inducted Into NFL Hall of Fame

The NFL announced the 2010 Pro Football Hall of Fame inductees last weekend and, as always, a couple of names drew the most attention. Jerry Rice and Emmitt Smith, two of the greatest players of all-time, headline the list of inductees along with Floyd Little, Dick LeBeau, Russ Grimm, Rickey Jackson and John Randle.

I’m especially happy for Floyd Little, who was up until this weekend the most deserving running back not in the Hall of Fame. Little was the first running back to win a NFL rushing title on a last-place team. He earned five Pro Bowl berths and was a versatile all-purpose player with more than 12,000 yards.

I actually have a personal connection to Little. He was the first professional athlete I ever met. He lived next door to my uncle, and one year when my family came out to Denver to go skiing, my uncle took me next door to meet him. This was during the peak of his career and he was larger-than-life to a 10 year old. I remember holding his trophies and getting his autograph. He’s an extremely nice man….

Of course, Jerry Rice and Emmitt Smith are going to grab most of the spotlight and deservingly so.

Smith is the NFL’s all-time leading rusher with 18,355 yards and a league-leading 155 rushing touchdowns. He was named NFL MVP in 1993, MVP of Super Bowl XXVII and to the 1990’s NFL All-Decade Team. Only Hall of Famer Jim Brown won more rushing titles than Smith.

Rice holds many of the NFL’s receiving records, including marks for single season, career and Super Bowl. He caught 1,549 passes for 22,895 yards and 208 touchdowns. He played in four Super Bowls and was named MVP of Super Bowl XXIII. He had at least 1,000 yards receiving for 11 consecutive seasons and was a 13-time Pro Bowler.

John Randle was one of the most dominating players during his 14 years in the league with the Minnesota Vikings and Seattle Seahawks. He tallied more sacks (137.5) than any other player who primarily played defensive tackle. Only Reggie White (10) had more consecutive seasons with at least 10 sacks than Randle (8).

Russ Grimm was a member of the famed Washington Redskins “Hogs” offensive line. He was a four-time Pro Bowler and was named to the NFL’s All-Decade Team of the 1980’s.

Rickey Jackson was a six-time Pro Bowl linebacker for the Saints and San Francisco 49ers. He  had 128 sacks and 28 fumble recoveries, which ranks second all-time.

Dick LeBeau was a skilled cornerback for the Detroit Lions. His 62 interceptions at the time of retirement ranked second all-time and today ranks eighth overall.

Each year, there are a couple of players left out who deserve to be in the Hall. Among those not inducted this year include Tim Brown, Cris Carter and Shannon Sharpe. The official induction will take place in Canton, Ohio, on August 7.

If you would like to find out how to hire NFL Hall of Famers for a speaking engagement, appearance, endorsement, autograph signing or special event, request Jerry Rice, Emmitt Smith,  Floyd Little  or Shannon Sharpe booking agent information from PFP Sports and Celebrity Talent Agency. PFP is a top celebrity booking agent for  sports stars and celebrities. For more information call 800.966.1380